There are three ways to establish residency. When you buy a home, start a job or change your Driver License. After becoming a Colorado resident, you have up to 90 days to register your vehicle before you start accruing late fees.
To title and/or register a vehicle in Colorado, you need; either your title or current registration (cannot be expired more than 6 months), and a VIN verification completed by local law enforcement. If you live in Montrose County, please contact Montrose County Sheriff at 970-252-4023. They can schedule to come to you or you can go to their office at 1200 N Grand Ave. If you live in the City of Montrose, please contact Montrose PD at 970-252-5200.
You will also need a valid US Government issued photo ID and current proof of insurance that meets Colorado standards. Depending on what state you are coming from you may need to show the declaration page from your insurance policy if you have not switched to Colorado insurance. Note: If you are trying to register a truck with an empty weight of 4500 pounds or more, you will need a certified weight slip. Please include the VIN number on the weight slip. In Montrose you can get certified weight slips at Recla Metal, 136 S Maple Ave or the Exxon Travel Center at 1440 N Townsend Ave. Note for all online transactions: Be sure to use the State of Colorado’s official websites of dmv.colorado.gov or mydmv.colorado.gov. Never use “.org” or “.com”