Show All Answers
Values are most often determined by comparing your property with sold properties that are similar in location, design, size, age, and amenities. The Notice of Value you received in 2019 was based on sales that occurred between January 1, 2017 and June 30, 2018. This method is known as the Sales Comparison Approach to value.
The assessor determines the actual (market) value for all real and personal property. Then a percentage (assessment rate) is multiplied by the actual value to come up with the assessed value. In Colorado the improved residential assessment rate is currently 7.15%. For all other properties including vacant land and agricultural land, the assessment rate is 29%.
Colorado law requires all assessors to reappraise all real property, including land and improvements, every two years during odd-numbered years.
The actual value is multiplied by the assessment rate which is then multiplied by the mill levy. Example: Actual value is ($100,000 x 7.15% (residential assessment rate) x 63.603 mills)/1000 = $454.76 taxes due.
Tax rates are established by each individual taxing authority such as the schools, county, fire, water, sanitation, library, and recreation districts. The individual authorities that provide services to you are listed on your property tax statement. The assessor’s office has no control over the taxing authorities and their mill levies.
A property tax exemption is available to senior citizens, surviving spouses of previously qualified senior citizens, and disabled veterans. For those who qualify, 50 percent of the first $200,000 in actual value of their primary residence is exempted. The State of Colorado pays the exempted portion of the property tax. Once approved, the exemption remains in effect for future years, and the applicant should not re-apply.
Applicants who meet each of the following requirements may qualify for the senior exemption.
You may register at the County Clerk and Recorder’s office at:
Montrose County Courthouse
320 South First Street
Montrose, CO 81401
Online Voter Registration now available at: GoVoteColorado.gov
Please visit the Department of Public Health located at 1865 S. Townsend Avenue in Montrose, CO. Certificated are issued Monday - Thursday from 8:30am - 12pm and from 1pm - 5pm, and also on Friday from 8:30am - 11am. More information is available by visiting Montrose County Public Health online.
Montrose County Human Services is located at 1845 S Townsend Ave (across the street from Furniture Connection and Big O Tires).
No. Social Security cards must be obtained at the Social Security Office located at 1805 Pavilion Drive, Montrose.
Applying is the only way to find out for sure if you’re eligible for public assistance. However, the Colorado PEAK website has a link to enter information that will quickly tell you if you may or maynot be eligible.
Fill out the Public Assistance Application and check the “Food Assistance” box. Turn the application into Montrose County Human Services via mail, fax, or in person. Application must be signed to be valid. More information and application can be found here.
Yes, LEAP assists with winter heating costs November 1st – April 30th. Application are available at HHS during this eligibility period.
Call the HOTLINE at 844-CO-4-KIDS (844-264-5437). Reports will be confidential and routed to the Child Welfare Department. If it’s an emergency call 911 immediately.
You can contact the Fraud Investigator at 970-252-7072 or you can write an anonymous letter and send to: Montrose County HHS Attn: Fraud Investigator 1845 S Townsend Ave. Montrose CO 81401
Although Child Support Enforcement is part of Health & Human Services, their office is located at 1200 N Grand Ave, Montrose (at the Justice Center complex in the Annex Building).
No, they strictly deal with the financial support of the child.
Yes, if child support is in arrears you cannot obtain a hunting or fishing license and your driver’s license can be revoked.
Yes, contact the Environmental Health Department at 970-252-5067 for applications to open a restaurant, food truck, catering business, temporary-event food booth, etc
Fill out the Public Assistance Application and check the “Medical” box. Turn the application into Health & Human Services via mail, fax, or in person. Application must be signed to be valid.
Yes. The Public Health Clinic offers immunizations and family planning services.
Yes. Call 970-252-7052 to set up an appointment.
Our Public Health Clinic provides many options for birth control. These can be available on a sliding fee scale, donation, private pay, or insurance. Call 970-252-7052 to set up an appointment.
Yes, our Public Health Clinic does testing including rapid HIV testing. Call 970-252-7052 to set up an appointment.
The minimum lot size for a septic system is one (1) acre. All septic systems must be designed by a licensed engineer.
An Additional Dwelling Unit (ADU) is allowed in Montrose County in the General Agricultural zone district, provided you have a minimum of 1 acre and in the General Residential zone district. You are allowed two homes on the first ten acres and one home & one septic system for each additional ten acres.
Yes, Montrose County provides a tax paying service to accept payments by credit card or debit card. You may connect online to Certified Payments and follow the instructions. Certified Payments charges a fee of 2.35%. You must know your account number and the correct amount due of taxes when making a payment through this service.
AFTER SEPT. 1ST, CREDIT CARDS OR E-CHECK PAYMENTS ARE NOT ACCEPTED FOR DELINQUENT TAX PAYMENTS