Board of Adjustment

Montrose County Board of Adjustment

Established pursuant to C.R.S. 30-28-117
*Planning Commission Member
Name Appointed Term Expiration
Pam Brown
Bruce Leben (Glaspell) 04/19/2021 12/31/2026
Steve Dozier (Vacca) 04/19/2021 12/31/2026
Tim Carey
Bruce Ray 12/20/2017
Gary Garrren (Associate Member) 01/09/2007 12/31/2026
Keith Caddy (Associate Member) 04/19/2021 12/31/2026

The Montrose County Board of Adjustment (BOA) is comprised of five members appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. Two Associate Members shall also be appointed for five year terms and may serve as a voting member in the absence of a Board Member. Colorado Revised Statute 30-28-117(1) specifies that not more than half of the voting members may be Planning Commissioners at any one time.

Appeals or requests for a variance from County Zoning Requirements are be made pursuant to C.R.S. 30-28-118, as amended, and include reviewing a description of the property involved, a statement of the nature of the prayer of the appellant, and the time and place of the hearing.

Board members are appointed for staggered five year terms. The BOA is responsible for hearing and determining a resolution for zoning appeals filed.

The Board meets on an “as-needed” basis to consider appeals as a result of zoning issues. Meetings of the Board of Adjustment are held at the Public Works Meeting Room, 63160 LaSalle Road, Montrose, and are noticed a minimum of fifteen days in advance.